There’s a fire inside me that makes me wanna go to the #MillionPeopleMarch, but I just can’t.

If I’ll go to the #MillionPeopleMarch, I won’t be able to work in our shoot for our Geol project today. If that will happen, surely my groupmates will grade me very low, and my grades will be lower than what will it be when I go to our shoot. But I know that my Geol 11 grade is less less significant than that march. It’s history.

If I’ll go to the #MillionPeopleMarch, everyone in the family will be against me going there. I know that they’re so afraid of what can happen to me. They realize, a bit, of the value of this march. They just complain and complain. They react, but they don’t act. But what can they do if I’m already there? 

It is clear that I can go there, that I SHOULD and I MUST. I feel the raging desire of a Filipino to go there. But here I am again, going only up to the verge of doing things. I’m also afraid of what will happen to me. I don’t react, and I also don’t act. Am I a true Filipina? a true Iska? Look, I even use English in writing this. I don’t feel like an Iska. I don’t really feel UP. I can’t find myself.

2 thoughts on “

  1. There are other ways of making a difference. Some of the most crucial battles in history are not fought in the frontlines. Perhaps, you can start by igniting the hearts of your family members with the same fire that burns in your heart. You can also use your Geol 11 video as a form of protest. The only way for evil to win is when good people feel that their all tied-up and that they can do nothing to help. There is always a way out. There’s always a way to make a difference. Good luck!

    P.S. Writing in English doesn’t make you any less of an Iska or a UP student. It’s the thought behind the words that define who you are rather than the words themselves.

Leave a Reply

